Evolving Grilled Cheese

As a guy living alone, sandwiches have become a grilledCheese
popular meal choice.  Quick to make, many variations to enjoy and easy on the bank account.  Eating a grilled cheese sandwich is enjoyable, but the entire experience transports me back to my youth.

Comforting Memories

I remember Mom’s homemade grilled cheese sandwiches.  Served warm, steam rising above the brown tinged bread and cheese running from the middle.  Traditional, tasty, memorable and often served with tomato soup.

“Food has a way of transporting us back to the past.” – Homaro Cantu.

Grilled Cheese Variations

While many still enjoy the traditional grilled cheese sandwich like their mom made, the variations have increased.  Restaurants and food trucks only serving grilled cheese sandwiches, and their variations, have popped up around the world.  Different cheeses, bread, vegetables, meats and spices have been added to create an interesting twist on a classic.

Spice it Up

As a fan of spicy food, I like the idea of adding jalapenos toJalapeno_Estonia_3 the classic sandwich.  The “Jalapeno Popper” is a hot, delicious variation with added cream cheese, onions, black pepper and jalapenos. Create your own “Jalapeno Popper” by following the recipe on simplyscratch.com .

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    I’m like you, grilled cheese transports me back to my childhood. It is one of my favourite comfort foods, and being someone who eats very healthy grilled cheese sandwiches are a once and while treat. I love the idea of combining the jalapeño pepper and cheese, I think this is one of the reasons I like nachos – melted cheese and jalapeños! Next time I’m craving grilled cheese I’m definitely going to give this recipe a try. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great blog post! I must admit I am a huge grill cheese fan! Your post definitely brough me back to some memories with my grandma! She was not the world’s best cook, but she made a mean grilled cheese sandwich! I am not who likes spicy food but my boyfriend is obessed! I am going to have to pass along the recipe for him to try!

    Thank you for the blog post and bringing back some good memories!

    Angela

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

