Forward Thinking

The Canadian forwards will have tremendous speed and an abundance of talent.  Here are my selections for the 13 forwards to play in the 2016 World Cup.

1.Sidney Crosby – Pittsburgh Penguins


A Stanley Cup champion, Crosby has won Olympic gold twice and also the 2015 World Championship.  Sidney won World Jr. gold in 2005.  He has received the Hart Trophy twice as the league’s MVP.  Crosby was voted as the league’s MVP, as voted by the players, three times.  He lead the NHL in scoring twice.  A true leader.

2. Jonathan Toews – Chicago Blackhawks


A double gold Olympic medallist.  Toews has won 3 Stanley Cups.  He was named the most valuable playoff performer in 2010.  Jonathan was named the Frank J. Selke Trophy recipient in 2013 as the NHL’s top defensive forward.  His game elevates as the stakes get higher. Toews may be Canada’s best overall forward.

3. Jamie Benn (@jamiebenn14) – Dallas Stars


Benn won Olympic gold in 2014 and World Jr. gold in 2009.  He led the league in points in 2014-2015 with 87, earning the Art Ross Trophy.   Jamie currently leads the NHL with 16 goals and is tied for 1st in overall points with 32.

4. Tyler Seguin (@tseguinofficial) – Dallas Stars


Combining Seguin with Benn is dangerous for opposing defenders, as they’ve shown in Dallas.  At 23, Seguin has won a Stanley Cup, World Championship and Spengler Cup.  Tyler currently ranks 2nd in league points with 30 in 21 games.

5. Taylor Hall (@hallsy04) – Edmonton Oilers


Speed…speed…speed.  Hall gets better every year.  This year Taylor is tied for 4th in NHL scoring with 24 points in 21 games.

6. Steve Stamkos (@RealStamkos91) – Tampa Bay Lightning


Definition of a sniper.  Led the NHL in goals in 2010 and 2012.  Won gold in 2008 at the World Jr.Championships.

7. John Tavares (@91Tavares) – New York Islanders


Won gold at the 2014 Olympics, 2008 and 2009 World Jr. Championships and 2012 Spengler Cup.  Tavares is now the captain of the Islanders and has over a point per game average this season.

8. Corey Perry – Anaheim Ducks


Winner of gold at the 2010 and 2014 Olympics and 2005 World Jr. Championships.  Perry is a Stanley Cup winner who scored the most goals in 2010-2011 and received the Hart Trophy in 2011 as the league’s MVP.

9. Ryan Getzlaf – Anaheim Ducks


A gold medal winner at the 2010 and 2014 Olympics and 2005 World Jr. Championships.  Getzlaf was a Stanley Cup winner in 2007 and brings skill, size and experience to the line up.

10. Patrice Bergeron – Boston Bruins


Bergeron can play in all situations.  Gold medal winner at the 2010 and 2014 Olympics, 2012 Spengler Cup, 2005 World Jr. Championships and 2004 World Championships. A great face off man, this Stanley Cup champion has won 3 Frank J. Selke Trophies as the best defensive forward.

11. Matt Duchene (@Matt9Duchene) – Colorado Avalanche


Great speed that backs off defenders.  Duchene has won gold at the 2014 Olympics, 2015 World Championships and 2012 Spengler Cup. An NHL all-star who has 19 points in 21 games this season.

12. Brendan Gallagher (@BGALLY17) – Montreal Canadiens


Fast, skilled and feisty.  Gallagher has represented Canada at the 2012 World Jr. Hockey Championships.  Until getting injured , he had 19 points in 22 games this season.

13. Brad Marchand  (@Bmarch63) – Boston Bruins


Can play in all situations.  Marchand can throw off the opposition with his tenacious style.  A Stanley Cup winner and twice a World Jr. gold recipient.  In 18 games this year he has 16 points including 10 goals.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s